Who are the 5 apostles?

The five Apostles commonly referred to are Simon Peter, Andrew, James the Greater, John, and Philip. They were among the twelve disciples chosen by Jesus Christ in the New Testament.

Who are the 5 Apostles

For those who need more details

Simon Peter, Andrew, James the Greater, John, and Philip are the five Apostles commonly referred to in Christian tradition. These individuals were among the twelve disciples chosen by Jesus Christ in the New Testament. Each apostle played a significant role in spreading the teachings of Jesus and establishing the foundation of the early Christian church.

Simon Peter, also known as Peter or Simon, was a prominent figure among the Apostles. He was a fisherman by trade and Jesus named him the “rock” upon which he would build his church. Peter became a leader among the disciples and is often portrayed as the first pope of the Catholic Church.

Andrew, the brother of Peter, was also a fisherman. He is known for bringing Simon Peter to Jesus and for his strong faith. According to tradition, Andrew preached the gospel in various regions, including present-day Greece and Russia, before being martyred on an X-shaped cross.

James the Greater, the son of Zebedee, was one of the first disciples chosen by Jesus. He and his brother John were often referred to as the “Sons of Thunder.” James witnessed key events in Jesus’ life, such as the Transfiguration and the Agony in the Garden. He was the first apostle to be martyred, as he was executed by King Herod Agrippa I.

John, the son of Zebedee, is often referred to as the “beloved disciple” and was a close companion of Jesus. He is known for writing the Gospel of John, three epistles, and the Book of Revelation. John played a vital role in the early church and is believed to have lived a long life, possibly dying of old age.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the main characteristic features of the protestantism?

Philip, like Peter and Andrew, was also a fisherman before becoming an apostle. He is often associated with his dialogue with Jesus about Philip’s doubts regarding their ability to feed a large crowd. Philip preached the gospel in various places, including Greece and Asia Minor, before being martyred in Hierapolis.

“It is not so much the place where we are, as the disposition that we bring to it, that suffering will change into glory” – John Henry Newman.

Here are some interesting facts about the five Apostles:

  1. Simon Peter was given the keys to the kingdom of heaven by Jesus, symbolizing his authority.
  2. Andrew is considered the patron saint of Romania and Scotland.
  3. James the Greater is the patron saint of Spain and his relics are believed to be in Santiago de Compostela.
  4. John was the only apostle to be present at the crucifixion of Jesus.
  5. Philip is said to have performed miracles, including healing the sick and raising the dead.

Table of the five Apostles:

Apostle Occupation Key Role Fate
Simon Peter Fisherman Leader of the Apostles Crucified
Andrew Fisherman Brought Peter to Jesus Crucified
James the Greater Fisherman Witnessed key events in Jesus’ life Beheaded
John Fisherman The “beloved disciple,” wrote Gospel of John Natural death
Philip Fisherman Engaged in preaching and miracles Martyred

Note: This information is based on religious texts and traditions and may vary across different sources.

See the answer to “Who are the 5 Apostles?” in this video


In this YouTube video titled “5 Apostles,” the conversations between different individuals reveal tension, confusion, and turbulent relationships. Topics discussed include language development, admiration for certain individuals, debts, job opportunities, loyalty, hostage situations, love interests, financial transactions, and family conflicts. The conversations provide glimpses into the characters’ lives and motivations, leaving the viewer intrigued and anticipating what comes next.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What kind of water is used for baptism?

I’m sure you will be interested

How many apostles are named in the Bible?
The answer is: 12
One morning, after having spent the entire night on a mountain praying with God the Father, Jesus called His disciples together. He selected 12 of them, and named them apostles in His service (Luke 6:12-13).
Who are five of Jesus disciples?
Answer: The Bible teaches us that the original apostles of Jesus were Peter; James; John; Andrew; Philip; Judas Iscariot; Matthew; Thomas; James, the son of Alpheus; Bartholomew; Judas Thaddeus; and Simon Zelotes. Among these were fishermen during the time of calling, namely: Peter; James; John; Andrew.
Who were all the Apostles in order?
These are the names of the twelve apostles: first, Simon, also known as Peter, and his brother Andrew; James son of Zebedee, and his brother John; Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus; Simon the Cananaean, and Judas Iscariot, the one who betrayed him.
Where is the list of apostles in the Bible?
Answer to this: Four passages in the Bible give us the names of the apostles: Matthew 10:2-4, Mark 3:16-19, Luke 6:13-16, and Acts 1:13. While the order the names appear in is generally about the same, these lists don’t actually include all the same names, and some of them provide details the others don’t.

Rate article
Contemporary protestant